Dungarvin DSP’s Honored with ANCOR Award

Mar 24
Robert Longo, National Director of Operations
Dungarvin National Central Office

Dungarvin’s direct support professional (DSP) staff are essential to our success as a provider organization, and in fulfilling our mission of “respecting and responding to the choices of people in need of supports.” It is particularly gratifying to have the accomplishments of our DSP personnel acknowledged and commended by others. We are proud and excited to announce the Dungarvin winners of the American Network of Community Options and Resources (ANCOR) 2015 DSP Recognition Awards. This is the eighth year of this prestigious awards competition.

Per ANCOR, the goal of this program is “. . . to enhance the lives of people with disabilities by obtaining the resources to recruit, train and retain a sustainable direct support workforce. The awards honor and recognize the dedicated individuals who continually enrich the lives of the people with disabilities they serve.” This year Dungarvin submitted 37 nominations across 12 states for this competition. It is exciting to announce that Dungarvin employees were selected for seven awards.

Our State DSP award winners include:

Carla Buterbaugh, Dungarvin ColoradoLisa Buckentin, Dungarvin Minnesota

Carla Buterbaugh, Dungarvin Colorado and Lisa Buckentin, Dungarvin Minnesota

Kathey Kinsey, Dungarvin New MexicoShawn Torres, Dungarvin Nevada

Kathey Kinsey, Dungarvin New Mexico and Shawn Torres, Dungarvin Nevada

Glory Honea, Dungarvin OklahomaTara McIntosh, Dungarvin Oregon

Glory Honea, Dungarvin Oklahoma and Tara McIntosh, Dungarvin Oregon

Jeanne Gebhardt, Dungarvin Wisconsin

Jeanne Gebhardt, Dungarvin Wisconsin

All winners will be offered to attend the 2015 ANCOR Conference taking place in Washington D.C. May 3rd through May 5th. They will represent Dungarvin at the DSP of the Year celebration and receive recognition for their award from Dungarvin and from ANCOR. While there, hopefully they will also have time to check out the sites in the D.C. area and meet their State representative to advocate for DSPs.

The fact that Dungarvin DSPs have been recognized with these awards by ANCOR for the past eight years is a testament to the caliber of our Direct Support Professionals, and how they are impacting the lives of the individuals we support. We extend congratulations to all of our winners of the 2015 DSP of the Year Awards, as well as to all of our nominees. ANCOR will be sharing the nomination stories of the national and all state winners on their website and in a special photo-packed supplement to LINKS, ANCOR’s monthly electronic newsletter.

Add A Comment

Required Field* Your email will not be displayed or shared.


  1. Pingback:DSP Honorees Travel to Washington, D.C. - Dungarvin